Course Settings

Course Settings


Note:  You need Teacher or Manager access before you can perform this action and see below information.
These are the various fields to fill out when creating or editing a course. If you are editing a course, you can review the course settings and edit these fields by clicking the  button on the upper right part of your course page, then click on Edit Settings. 

General

Course Full Name*
(Mandatory Field) This is the name of the course. It is displayed as a link on course lists on the Front page and on the Dashboard and in reports. It is also used in the browser title bar when the course is viewed.
Course Short Name*
(Mandatory Field) Many institutions have a shorthand way of referring to a course, such as BP102 or COMMS. Even if you do not already have such a name for your course, make one up here. It will be used in several places where the long name is not appropriate, such as the Navigation block.
Course Category
Course Category helps teachers and students find their courses easily. This setting determines the category in which the course will appear in the list of courses.
Course Visibility
This setting determines whether the course appears in the list of courses and whether students can access it. If set to Hide, then access is restricted to users with the capability to view hidden courses (such as administrators and teachers), Even if students try to access the course URL directly, they will not be allowed to enter.
Course Start Date
This setting affects the display of logs and the weekly format topic dates, this setting also determines 

If you use the "Weekly" course format, the start date will appear in the first section of the course. For example selecting 27 July, will display "27 July - 2 August" in the first section (when default display is selected for that section).

This setting will have an effect on the display of logs. This will be the earliest possible date the log activity will display.

This setting will not affect courses using the 'social' or 'topics' formats.
Course End Date
The course end date is used for determining whether a course should be included in a user's list of courses. When the end date is past, the course is no longer listed in the navigation block / drawer and is listed as past in the Course overview on students' dashboards.

The course end date is also used for calculating the retention period before data is deleted. It may also be used by a custom report e.g. reporting activity for the duration of a course.

Users can still enter the course after the end date; in other words the date does not restrict access.
Course ID number
The ID number is an alphanumeric field. It has several potential uses. Generally, it is not displayed to students. However, it can be used to match this course against an external system's ID, as your course catalogue ID or can be used in the certificate module as a printed field.

Description

Course Summary
The summary appears on the course listings page. This field is searched when searching for a course and also appears in the Course/Site description block
Course Image
An image may be attached to the course summary. They will be accessible by anyone from outside of the course just like the course name and/or summary.

Course Format
The course format determines the layout of each course page.
Format
Single activity format - For displaying a single activity or resource (such as Quiz or SCORM package) on the course page.

Social format - A forum is displayed on the course page

Topics format - The course page is organised into topic sections

Weekly format - The course page is organised into weekly sections, with the first week starting on the course start date
Hidden Sections
This option allows you to decide how the hidden sections in your course are displayed to students. By default, a small area is shown (in collapsed form, usually grey) to indicate where the hidden section is, though they still cannot actually see the hidden activities and texts. This is particularly useful in the Weekly format, so that non-class weeks are clear, or if you have quizzes you don't want your students to see.
Course Layout
The Course layout setting determines whether the whole course is displayed on one page or split over several pages.

Appearance

Force Language
If you force a language in a course, the interface of Moodle in this course will be in this particular language, even if a student has selected a different preferred language in his/her personal profile.
Number of Announcements 
This setting determines how many recent announcements appear in the latest announcements block.

If an announcements forum is not required in the course, this setting should be set to zero.
Show Gradebook to Students
Here you can decide whether to allow students to see the link to grades in the Administration block. If your course doesn't use graded activities, it makes sense to disable this. If grades are used and this link is disabled, students can still see their grade from the actual activity itself, such as an assignment
Show Activity Reports
Here you can decide whether to show students their activity reports. (listings of their contributions, such as forum posts or assignment submissions, these reports also include access logs).

This setting determines whether a student can view their own activity reports via their profile page.

Files and Uploads

Maximum Upload Size
Here you can decide the largest size of file that students can upload to a course. The site administrator determines the sizes available for the teacher to select.

Completion Tracking

Enable Completion Tracking
If enabled, activity completion conditions may be set in the activity settings and/or course completion conditions may be set. It is recommended to have this enabled so that meaningful data is displayed in the course overview on the Dashboard.

Groups

Group Mode
Here you can define the group mode at the course level by a pull down menu. "No groups", "Separate groups" and "Visible groups" are the choices. The selected setting will be the default group mode for all activities defined within that course. The group setting can affect what users see in the participants list and who they can interact within activities.
Force Group Mode
If the group mode is "forced" at a course-level, then this particular group mode will be applied to every activity in that course. This will override any activities that may have a special group setting.
Default Grouping
If groupings are enabled, a default grouping for course activities and resources may be set.

Role Renaming

Role Renaming
You can rename the roles used in your course. For example, you may wish to rename the Teacher role as "Facilitator", "Tutor" or "Guide". These new role names will appear within the course. For example on the participants and the override permissions pages.

Tags

Tags
Tags are used for the searchability of the course.                                                                                                                                           










    • Related Articles

    • How to Add a Course

      Note:  You need Teacher or Manager access before you can perform this action. Below are the steps to add a course: Step 1: On the upper left part of the screen, click on the  button then choose the Site administration option. Step 2: From the ...
    • How to Backup and Restore a Course

      Note:  You need Admin access before you can perform this action. How to Backup Course (Copy) Step 1: Search the category where the course you want to copy is located, then click to enter the course you want to copy. Step 2:  Click the gear icon on ...
    • How to Enrol a Cohort in a Course

      You need Manager or Admin access to be able to perform this action. This tutorial will show you how to enrol a cohort of users into a course. There are two methods to do this. Via Cohort Sync We can use the Cohort Sync method to enrol a cohort in the ...
    • How to set course grading to "Competent" and "Not Yet Competent" grades

      To update the course Gradebook Setup, follow the steps below: Step 1: From the course page, click on the  button located on the upper right side of the course page screen, then choose Gradebook Setup from the drop-down menu.      Step 2: Go to Course ...
    • How to Edit a Course

      Note: You need Teacher or Manager access before you can perform this action. Below are the steps to edit a course: Once a course is created, you have the option to edit it right away or you can search for the created course later. Step 1: You can do ...